Gearing up for Gatsby?

With the upcoming release of Director Baz Luhrmann’s version of Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby, this 1920’s classic is receiving an influx of renewed attention from readers. According to Publishers Weekly, CoverCake, a company that tracks trending topics on major social media platforms, listed The Great Gatsby as #5 on their list of Top-10 Books in Social Media for April 2013.

I myself have been contemplating rummaging through my library to pluck out the classic for a long overdue re-read. Isn’t it wonderful what putting a book into a new medium can do to revitalize interest in the book itself?

It is a reader’s quirk of mine to refuse to watch a movie unless I have read the book first. I feel that there is nothing more detrimental to the creative and imaginative conversation that goes on between the characters of a novel and the reader than to watch the movie version first. I’m sure that many will disagree with me on this, but it is a deeply rooted belief of mine and one that I will stick to for Gatsby.

Though I have already read Fitzgerald’s classic depiction of the Roaring Twenties, I feel that I would be remiss not to open the spine once again and let those powerful words wash over me once more before going to see Luhrmann’s version.

What are your thoughts? To read or not to read?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Publishing, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

