Countdown to NYU

It’s getting steadily closer and closer–my flight to New York and the start of my new adventure towards a career in my dream industry, publishing. I can hardly believe that I am this close to beginning what I hope will be the most exciting and challenging chapter of my life thus far.

As I experience the difference stages of anticipation–excitement, joy, fear, doubt–I am reminded of Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist. I recently read this novel, long overdue, as it is one that I had been meaning to read for several years. However, time has a funny way aligning things in your life and making them all the more meaningful. I could not have picked a better time to read Coelho’s inspirational story of a shepherd boy on the pursuit of his dreams than as I was beginning to embark on my own journey.

I have been thinking a lot lately about how each of my experiences have brought me one step closer to this time in my life. Achieving my B.A. in English, interning with Texas Monthly, traveling to San Francisco to intern with Tango Diva and continuing to write travel articles after my internship ended, having the incredible opportunity to travel to London to intern with Pickering & Chatto Publishers, and now on the verge of beginning my six-week crash course into the world of publishing at NYU, my emotions are a blend of overwhelming excitement and just a tinge of nerves.

I have wanted this so desperately, cried for this countless times, and been filled to my core with the conviction that this is the industry in which I truly belong. It seems surreal to think that I am this close to gateway to my dreams. As I journey through this program and wherever it may lead me afterward I will carry the words of Paulo Coelho with me that “when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” I will keep this as my mantra through the good times and the bad and always remember that “There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.”

Here’s to the adventure of the unknown, to relentlessly chasing the dream, and to reaping the spoils of dedicated hard work.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Publishing, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Countdown to NYU

  1. Gina Montz

    Well said Chelsea. I hope you have a wonderful time in NYC. The experience will be amazing especially since its NYU. What a great opportunity for you and another building block for your career in publishing

Leave a Reply

