2014–The Year of the Writer

It’s that time of year again…New Year, New You. New Year’s Resolutions to be kept, gym memberships to be purchased, new yoga gear to be worn, more water and green tea to be consumed and so on. Though I’ll admit that I have some health and fitness resolutions on my list for 2014, there is another resolution that I’m determined to keep at the top. It’s time for me to make a serious and concerted effort to regularly exercise my writing skills. There’s no reason for me not to, it comes  easily to me (most of the time) and I get immense joy from letting the words flow out onto the page. Why should I deny myself that pleasure simply because lying on the couch in front of the TV is so much easier, but so much less rewarding?

It’s time for a change and one that I will stick to. I’m making 2014 my year of writing. In this year I will make my blog a priority, I will make my creative writing a priority (more on that to come) and I will make my personal growth as a writer and reader a priority. These are things that are near and dear to my heart and fuel my spirit and I’m not going to let the post-work laziness get in the way any longer. I will march into 2014 with this new motto in mind “The pen is mightier than the couch.” Perhaps a bizarre twist on Bulwer-Lytton’s celebrated adage, yet one that I feel is particularly fitting for the writer in me.

I have recently started contributing to my blog at work, Greenleaf Book Group’s Big Bad Book Blog and this new responsibility at work has given me the kick in the rear I desperately needed to get back on track with my personal publishing blog.  I am so excited to start 2014 as a young publishing professional. It has been a long time coming and an earnest quest of mine to be a part of this industry that I want to build a lifelong career in. I think therefore that I owe it to myself and to publishing to be an active participant in the space.

It’s going to be a great writing adventure and I can’t wait to see where the page and the words take me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

